# Editorial Advisory Committee

MANSON BENEDICT
E. RICHARD COHEN
E. C. CREUTZ
FRANK G. DAWSON
PAUL GAST
D. H. GURINSKY
A. F. HENRY
A. A. JOHNSON
C. H. MILLAR
L. W. NORDHEIM
HUGH C. PAXTON
FRED W. THALGOTT

### ANS Officers

JOHN W. SIMPSON
President
J. ERNEST WILKINS, JR.
Vice President/President Elect
HARRY LAWROSKI
Treasurer
RAYMOND D. MAXSON
Assistant Treasurer
OCTAVE J. DU TEMPLE
Executive Director

### ANS Publications Staff

NORMAN H. JACOBSON
Publications Manager
RUTH FARMAKES
ASSISTANT STAFF Editor
BARRETT M. SCHROEDER
COPY Editor
SIEGFRIED H. KRAPP
Production Manager
KATHRYN FROEHLICH
Production Assistant

## Composition

BELJAN, ANN ARBOR, MICHIGAN

NUCLEAR SCIENCE AND ENGINEERING is published monthly by the American Nuclear Society, Incorporated, with executive and business offices at 244 East Ogden Avenue, Hinsdale, Illinois 60521—telephone 312/325-1991. Subscription rate is \$90/3 volumes, calendar year; \$35/single volume, single copy price is \$10 (special issues slightly higher): address subscription orders to the American Nuclear Society (back issues of Volumes 1-17 are available from Academic Press, 111 Fifth Avenue, New York, N.Y.). Second-clars postage is paid at Hinsdale, Illinois and at additional mailing offices. NUCLEAR SCIENCE AND ENGINEFRING is printed in Danville, Illinois. Copyright © 1973 by the American Nuclear Society, Inc. Inquiries about the distribution and delivery of NUCLEAR SCIENCE AND ENGINEERING. American Nuclear Society, 244 East Ogden Avenue, Hinsdale, Illinois 60521. Allow 6 weeks for a change to become effect 16.

# NUCLEAR SCIENCE and ENGINEERING®

VOLUME 52, NUMBER 2, OCTOBER 1973

#### **Contents**

7
6
7
201
5
7
7
4
7
74
9
30
31
32