ANS News

ANS-June 15-17, 1959 Meeting, Gatlinburg, Tennessee

President Chauncey Starr announced the appointment of Dr. Alvin Weinberg as Honorary Chairman of the 6th Annual Meeting of the American Nuclear Society to be held in Gatlinburg, Tennessee, June 15–17, 1959, in cooperation with the Oak Ridge National Laboratory. Dr. Francois Kertesz and Dr. Charles E. Winters were also appointed cochairmen of the meeting. Dr. A. Dixon Callahan was appointed technical program chairman of the meeting. All papers proposed for this meeting should be sent to Dr. Callahan at ORNL, P. O. Box X, Oak Ridge, Tennessee on or before March 15, 1959.

Registration at Detroit Meeting

The 1958 winter meeting of the ANS, held December 8–10, 1958, at Detroit had a total registration of 946, which included 466 members, 351 nonmembers, and 129 students. This meeting was one of the most successful the Society has had to date. The special sessions and invited papers proved so successful that the Society is planning more special sessions.

Membership List

To be included in the membership list, a veritable "Who's Who" in the nuclear industry throughout the world, you must fill out the information blank which was sent to you along with your 1959 dues and return this information blank to the Society Headquarters at 86 E. Randolph Street, Chicago 1, Illinois, on or before February 1, 1959.

Local Sections

Delaware Valley Section and the Southwest Ohio Section are the two most recent Sections to be established by the Board at the December 10th meeting. This brings to 13 the total number of local sections. Francis L. Jackson of the Franklin Institute, Philadelphia, is the interim chairman of the Delaware Valley Section. Francis J. Jankowski of Batelle Memorial Institute, Columbus, Ohio, submitted the petition of the Southwest Ohio Section.

Student Chapters

North Carolina State College, David H. Martin, Faculty Sponsor, Cornell University, David Clark, Faculty Sponsor, and the University of Virginia, W. Reed Johnson, Faculty Sponsor, are the three latest additions to the student chapter list of the Society. There are now 9 student chapters of ANS.

Professional Divisions

The Hot Laboratory Division of the American Nuclear Society was formally established at the December 10th meeting of the Board of Directors. The Hot Laboratory Division is the old Hot Laboratory Committee which has been sponsoring meetings since May, 1951. There are approximately 65 charter members of ANS in the Hot Laboratories Division. The Executive Committee of this Division is made up of the following: One year term—James Lilienthal (LASL), Arthur Hill (SRL); two year term—T. J. E. Glasson (KAPL), Raymond Westphal (WAPD), P. F. X. Dunigan (HAPO); three year term—Raymond Goertz (ANL), Frank Ring, Jr. (ORNL), Louis G. Stang, Jr. (BNL).

Publications

The Board of Directors at its latest meeting adopted the policy which allows the Society to ask for voluntary page charges from the authors and/or companies which sponsor papers that have been accepted by the author. This is a policy which has been established by several other scientific Societies and has been in effect for some years.

Future Meetings

June 15–17, 1959—Gatlinburg, Tennessee November 4–6, 1959—Washington, D. C. June 12–16, 1960—Chicago, Illinois 1960 winter meeting—San Francisco, California 1961 annual meeting—Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania 1961 winter meeting—New York City June, 1962—Boston, Massachusetts December, 1962—Cincinnati, Ohio June, 1963—San Diego or Denver December, 1963—Washington, D. C. 74 ANS NEWS

Fellow Nominations

No nominations were reported out of the Honors and Awards Committee at the December meeting of the Committee. The Committee expects to meet again on or about April 9th, 1959 in Cleveland during the 1959 Nuclear Congress. As a result of recent Board of Directors action, a nomination for Fellow Grade must be received by the Secretary at least 30 days before the Committee meets if the nomination is to be considered at the Committee meeting. Your nominations are kindly requested. Forms and instructions may be received from the Executive Secretary, American Nuclear Society, 86 E. Randolph Street, Chicago 1, Illinois.

Mark Mills Award

Announcements of the award were sent to all University faculty members of the American Nuclear Society. The first award will be made at the Gatlinburg, Tenn. meeting of the Society, June 15–17, 1959. The award will consist of a special certificate and an expense paid trip to the American Nuclear Society annual meeting to present the paper before the Society.

The American Nuclear Society, in recognition of the important contributions of the late Mark Mills to the field of nuclear science established the Mark Mills Award to honor the outstanding graduate student doing work in nuclear science or nuclear engineering. Your nominations are kindly requested. Information may be obtained from the Executive Secretary, American Nuclear Society, 86 E. Randolph Street, Chicago 1, Illinois.

Lapel Pin

The Board of Directors at the Detroit meeting adopted a lapel pin emblem for the Society. The pin and emblem was originally proposed by members of the Pittsburgh Section. These pins may be purchased from the Executive Secretary about March 1. The

exact price has not as yet been determined, but it is expected to be approximately \$3.

Octave J. Du Temple Executive Secretary

ANNOUNCEMENTS

Sixth Annual Meeting. Gatlinburg, Tennessee, American Nuclear Society, June 15–17, 1959.

1959 Nuclear Congress. Public Auditorium, Cleveland, Ohio, April 5–10, 1959; including the Nuclear Engineering and Science Conference, the Atomic Energy Management Conference, sponsored by the Atomic Industrial Forum and the National Industrial Conference Board; the Hot Laboratories and Equipment Conference, sponsored by the Hot Laboratories Committee; and the Atomfair, sponsored by the Atomic Industrial Forum. Contact: T. A. Marshall, Jr., Congress manager, or L. K. Wheelock, assistant Congress manager, Engineers Joint Council, 29 West 39th St., New York 18, N. Y.

American Industrial Hygiene Association Twentieth Meeting. Hotel Sherman, Chicago, Ill., April 26–May 1, 1959. Session on radiation. Contact: Elmer Wheeler, Monsanto Chemical Co., Lindbergh and Olive Street Road, St. Louis 4, Mo.

Kansas State College and the Isotope Technology Branch of the U. S. Atomic Energy Commission will cosponsor a nine-state conference on the Industrial Uses of Radioisotopes, February 25 and 26, 1959. The conference will be held on the campus of Kansas State College at Manhattan. Contact: John E. Kitchens, Department of Continuing Education, Kansas State College, Manhattan, Kansas.

Health Physics Society. Gatlinburg, Tennessee, June 18, 19, 20, 1959. Contact: Elda E. Anderson, Oak Ridge National Laboratory, P. O. Box P, Oak Ridge, Tennessee.

First International Symposium on Solid Nuclear Fuel Elements will be held at the Faculty Club, Columbia University, New York City on January 28 and 29, 1959. Address inquiries to Dr. H. H. Hausner, Room 2101, 730 Fifth Avenue, New York 19, N. Y.