ANS NEWS

ANS Annual Meeting June 15-17, 1959

The Fourth Annual Meeting of the Society, which is sponsored jointly by the Society and the Oak Ridge National Laboratory, will be held at Gatlinburg, Tennessee, June 15–17, 1959. Dr. Alvin Weinberg is honorary Chairman and Dr. C. E. Winters and Dr. Francois Kertesz are General Cochairmen of the Meeting. Dr. A. Dixon Callihan is the Technical Program Chairman. Members of the Society wishing to submit or sponsor a paper should send the summary (500 to 600 words) to Dr. Callihan on or before March 15, 1959, at P.O. Box X, Oak Ridge, Tennessee.

Fellow Nominations

Dr. Leland J. Haworth, past President of ANS and Chairman of the Honors and Awards Committee, wishes to call to your attention that many individuals qualified for the honorary grade of Fellow have not yet been nominated. Contact: Octave J. Du Temple, Executive Secretary, at the National Office, 86 East Randolph Street, Chicago 1, Illinois, for the necessary forms and instructions. Your nominations are kindly requested.

Membership List

The membership list of the Society, a veritable Who's Who in the nuclear business, will be published in March, 1959. The closing date for the membership list is March 1, 1959. Please be sure to pay your dues for 1959 before that date, so that you may be included in the 1959 membership list.

1959 Nominating Committee Selected

At the 17th Meeting of the American Nuclear Society held in Detroit in December, 1958, the following Nominating Committee was selected and approved: L. J. Haworth, Chairman; Miles Leverett, GE; Henry Gomberg, University of Michigan; S. Lawroski, ANL; Kenneth Davis, Bechtel; James Lane, ORNL; William Abbott, Westinghouse. Alternates: Frank Miles, BNL; William Nyer, Phillips Petroleum, Idaho.

Local Sections

East Idaho. The East Idaho Section at its December 15, 1958 meeting heard a report on intersection business by S. G. Forbes, reports on Pulsed Neutron Techniques Symposium at UCRL by G. S. Brunson and S. Sandhaus, and a presentation of the latest SPERT film on reactor transients. At its January 13, 1959 meeting the topic of the panel discussion was "The Scientist and the Press."

Chicago, Illinois. The Chicago Section met on January 8, 1959 at Stouffers Restaurant in the Prudential Building and elected the following officers to serve until after the Annual Meeting of Calendar Year 1960; Joseph M. Harrer, ANL, Chairman; Leonard Reiffel, Armour Research Foundation, Vice-Chairman; George J. Rotariu, Booz-Allen Applied Research, Secretary; Willis T. Smith, Nucleonics, Treasurer; and Bernard I. Spinrad, ANL; and Fred W. McCloska, Sargent & Lundy, as Executive Committee Members.

Roy C. Hageman, Director of the Inspection Division, USAEC, spoke on AEC licensing.

Washington, D. C. The Washington, D. C. Section met December 17, 1958 at the National Academy of Sciences. The topic discussed was "The Reactor Safeguards Problem; Experiences and Attitudes in the United States and Abroad as Expressed at Geneva." It was presented by Dr. C. Rogers McCullough, Chairman of the AEC's Advisory Committee on Reactor Safeguards.

Mr. G. A. Anderson had to tender his resignation as Program Chairman due to other heavy commitments, and his post was accepted by Dr. C. R. McCullough. Mr. R. W. Ritzmann was appointed to the post of Publicity Chairman.

Octave J. Du Temple Executive Secretary

ANNOUNCEMENTS

The Fourth International Civil Defence Conference, will be held from May 11–16, 1959, in Paris.

A Symposium on the Mathematical Aspects of Reactor Theory, sponsored by The American MatheANS NEWS 141

matical Society, will be held on April 23-24, 1959, in the Hotel New Yorker, New York, N. Y. Sessions on Reactor Physics, Criticality, Numerical Calculations of Criticality, and Reactor Dynamics will include invited addresses by Garrett Birkhoff, Harvey Brooks, B. G. Carlson, Richard Ehrlich, Ugo Fano, H. L. Garabedian, G. J. Habetler, M. S. Nelkin, L. W. Nordheim, R. D. Richtmeyer, Harry Sookak, R. S. Varga, A. M. Weinberg, T. A. Welton, E. P. Wigner, J. E. Wilkins, and G. M. Wing. Any member of the American Nuclear Society who wishes to attend this symposium is requested to notify Professor E. P. Wigner, Palmer Physical Laboratory. Princeton, New Jersey, before April 1, 1959, of his intention. The registration fee, if any, will be nominal.

1959 Nuclear Congress. Cleveland, Ohio, April 5–10, 1959. Contact: T. A. Marshall, Congress Manager, ASME, 29 West 39th Street, New York 18, New York. Dr. Miles Leverett will speak on standards in the nuclear field at the ANS luncheon meeting to be held Thursday, April 9, 1959, at 12:00 noon. All members are cordially invited to attend the ANS luncheon. The Board of Directors of the

American Nuclear Society is also expected to meet during the Nuclear Congress.

The theme of the Nuclear Congress, "For Mankind's Progress," will consist of forty sessions to be held during the five day period. Features of the meeting will be engineering papers dealing with advances in reactor technology and the use of radioactive materials, a trade show, the Atomfair, talks devoted to problems of industrial management in the nuclear field, and papers devoted to laboratory problems in radioactive materials.

One Course in Radiological Health. New York University-Bellevue Medical Center Post-Graduate Medical School, New York, N. Y. The course, entitled Radiation Hygiene Measurements, will be held May 4–29, and is full time. Contact: The Associate Dean, NYU Post-Graduate Medical School, 550 First Ave., New York 16, N. Y.

Techniques of Using Radioisotopes in Industry, will be held as a course April 6-May 15, at the Special Training Division of Oak Ridge Institute of Nuclear Studies, Oak Ridge, Tenn. Contact: Dr. Ralph T. Overman, Chairman, Special Training Division, ORINS, P.O. Box 117, Oak Ridge, Tennessee.