ANS NEWS

Mark Mills Graduate Student Award

At the close of its Board of Directors meeting in Los Angeles on June 4, 1958, the ANS announced the establishment of an annual graduate student award in memory of Dr. Mark M. Mills, former Associate Director of the Livermore Laboratory of the University of California Radiation Laboratory.

Dr. Mills was killed in a helicopter accident April 7, 1958, at the Eniwetok Proving Grounds in the Pacific. A theoretical physicist and an expert in jet propulsion and atomic energy, Dr. Mills was an expert consultant to U. S. Army Ordnance, and a member of the Reactor Safeguard Committee of the Atomic Energy Commission and of the Scientific Advisory Board, U. S. Air Force.

The new president of the ANS, Dr. Chauncey Starr said that "the intent of the Mark Mills award is to recognize the outstanding graduate student working in the nuclear sciences."

The Honors and Awards Committee and the Education Committee will announce the method of selection and details of the award at the next ANS meeting in Detroit on December 8–10, 1958. Members are requested to send names and qualifications of potential candidates to Dr. Lawrence R. Quarles, Dean of Engineering, University of Virginia, School of Engineering, Charlottesville, Virginia. Dr. Quarles is chairman of the Education Committee which will select the winner. The new award is the first of its kind to be established by the Society.

Sections and Student Branches

In addition to the Geographic Sections listed in the 1958 roster, the Board of Directors has authorized Local Sections (geographical) at Washington, D. C., and at Richland, Washington, bringing to eleven the number of ANS Local Sections. The Board has also authorized the formation of a Student Branch at Kansas State College, Manhattan, Kansas, bringing the total of Student Branches to six.

Election

Newly elected Officers of the American Nuclear Society for 1958–1959, taking office at the Fourth Annual Meeting in Los Angeles on June 4th, are: President, Chauncey Starr, General Manager of Atomics International and Vice President

ANS NEWS 137

of North American Aviation, Inc.; Vice President, John A. Swartout, Deputy Director of Oak Ridge National Laboratory; Treasurer, Mortimer A. Schultz, Project Manager of Westinghouse Testing Reactor. J. G. Beckerley, of Schlumberger Well Surveying Corporation continues as Editor, completing a two-year term of office, and Octave J. Du Temple, newly appointed full-time Executive Secretary of the Society, complete the slate of officers for the coming year. Board members elected at the meeting to serve three-year terms are: John C. Bugher, Edward Creutz, Joseph Dietrich, Milton C. Edlund, Norman Hilberry, Leonard Koch, Titus LeClair, Raymond Murray, and W. Kelly Woods.

Membership

The 1958 ANS Membership List, recently mailed to members of the Society, contained the names and addresses of about 2600 Members and 135 Student Members. In addition to the alphabetic listings, the roster carries a list of members by organization, by discipline, and by geographical location. Over 30 foreign countries are represented in the Overseas Membership of the Society, and a total of nearly 500 organizations, educational institutions, and government agencies have one or more ANS members.

Since the Roster went to press, two new groups of applicants have been elected to membership by the Board of Directors, and the membership now stands, with resignations and reclassifications of member grade, at: Members, 2564; Overseas Members, 148; Student Members, 128. The total membership is 2840.

Abstracts

Abstracts of the papers presented at the Second Annual Meeting, Chicago, June, 1956, and at the First Winter Meeting, Washington, D. C., December, 1956 (8½ × 11-inch format), and the "Final Program and Abstracts" (6 × 9-inch format) of subsequent meetings of the American Nuclear Society are available for purchase by writing to the office of the Executive Secretary, American Nuclear Society, Inc., John Crerar Library, 86 East Randolph Street, Chicago 1, Illinois.

Winter Meeting

The 1958 Winter Meeting of the American Nuclear Society will be held in Detroit, Michigan, on December 8–10. Walker L. Cisler, President of Detroit Edison Company, and L. R. Hafstad, Vice President of General Motors Corporation, are co-chairmen for the meeting. Deadline for abstracts will be announced later.

Octave J. Du Temple Executive Secretary