American Nuclear Society

Home / Public Information / News

ANS Names New Fellows

Fellows Honored During ANS Winter Meeting

ANS welcomed six of its members to be honored as Fellows for their outstanding accomplishments in nuclear science and technology.  Fellow is the highest member status presented by the Society.

Todd Allen Professor Engineering Physics, University of Wisconsin
Dr. Allen was recognized for outstanding contributions in materials science for nuclear systems and for his leadership in the advancement of nuclear energy through participation on the Generation IV Roadmap leadership team, and in the creation of the Nuclear Science User Facilities and the Gateway for Accelerated Innovation in Nuclear.

Dr. Roy A Axford, Professor Emeritus University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign
Dr. Axford was recognized for dedicating over 50 years to the pursuit of teaching excellence, for molding two generations of leaders in nuclear engineering education and research, and for aiding in responsible development and maintenance of this country’s national nuclear security capabilities.

Mr. Emory D. Collins, Lead Radiochemical Engineer, Oak Ridge National Laboratory
Mr. Collins was recognized for his outstanding accomplishments in the development and implementation of improved methods for transuranium element separation and production, nuclear waste management, and advanced fuel cycle development.  His innovations are being applied both nationally and internationally.

Mr. Karl N. Fleming, KNF Consulting Services, LLC
Mr. Fleming was recognized for his groundbreaking contributions to probabilistic risk assessment (PRA) methods and applications, including the treatment of common-cause failures, the methodology for risk-informed in-service inspection of nuclear-plant piping, and the development of standards through participation in the ASME/ANS Joint Committee on Nuclear Risk Management.

Dr. Lin-Wen, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Dr. Hu was recognized for her outstanding leadership and contributions to facility design modifications, safety analysis, and licensing.  This work enabled the innovative use of high performance research reactors for irradiation testing of high-temperature fuels, materials and instrumentation and for integral testing of advanced reactor concepts.

Dr. Jasmina L. Vujic, University of California- Berkeley
Dr. Vujic was recognized for sustained research contributions and innovation in nuclear science and technology, including the development of reactor physics analysis methods, the development of advanced reactor and fuel cycle concepts for Generation IV systems, and applied neutron physics research on the tailoring of neutron beams for diverse applications.

The six new ANS Fellows were formally announced and recognized at the ANS Winter Meeting in Orlando, FL on November 12, 2018. A complete list of all ANS Fellows can be found on the ANS website at

Media Contact:
Outreach Department|708-579-8224