American Nuclear Society

Home / Public Information / News

ANS Welcomes New Fellows

Three Fellows Honored During ANS Winter Meeting in Washington, D.C.

ANS welcomed three of its members to be honored as Fellows for their outstanding accomplishments in nuclear science and technology. Fellow is the highest member status presented by the Society.

Dr. Jeremy T. Busby of Oak Ridge National Laboratory was award Fellow for his significant contributions to the understanding of materials performance and development of improved materials for a wide variety of nuclear reactor applications, including space reactors, fusion reactors, advanced fast reactors, and light water reactors. His diverse research has enabled development and deployment of improved structural materials for harsh environments, resulting in more safe, reliable, and cost effective nuclear systems.

Dr. Jin Jiang of the University of Western Ontario is a Distinguished University Professor and an Industrial Research Chair. Dr. Jiang is renowned for his expertise in instrumentation and control systems for nuclear plants. His seminal contributions to these systems have made significant impacts within both academic communities and nuclear industries worldwide.

Dr. Stephen G. Johnson of Idaho National Laboratory was recognized or unparalleled leadership in rebuilding the assembly, testing, and transportation infrastructure of the national radioisotope power system program and for on-schedule delivery of the power systems for NASA’s Pluto and Mars missions.

The new ANS Fellows were formally recognized at the ANS Winter Meeting in Washington, D.C. on November 18, 2019 A complete list of all ANS Fellows and all ANS award winners can be found on the ANS website at

Media Contact:
Outreach Department|708-579-8224