American Nuclear Society

Home / Honors / Scholarships

John R. Lamarsh

The American Nuclear Society has proudly awarded the John R. Lamarsh Memorial Scholarship since 1982 in honor of John R. Lamarsh, a notable and highly respected member of the academic community in nuclear engineering. This prestigious award was the first endowed scholarship offered by the Society and was named for John because of his influence on nuclear engineering education.

John Lamarsh was a graduate of Massachusetts Institute of Technology and Cornell University, and was the recipient of the Arthur Holly Compton Award in Education in 1980. He was an individual who dedicated his life to enhancing the field of nuclear engineering education. John was department chair of nuclear engineering at New York University. He wrote numerous texts that were widely used in the academic world, including "Nuclear Reactor Theory" (1966), and "Introduction to Nuclear Engineering" (1975).

Last modified July 30, 2014, 12:09pm CDT