American Nuclear Society

Home / Honors and Awards

Walter H. Zinn Medal

Top Tier Award

Topic: Nuclear Technology


The Walter H. Zinn Medal is an award to recognize an individual for outstanding contributions to the advancement or implementation of nuclear technology. It honors Walter H. Zinn, a pioneer in nuclear reactor development and the Society's first President. This award is to recognize notable and sustained technical contribution, leadership, or other service that has not been widely recognized. The award consists of an engraved medal. It is to be made no more frequently than once per year and is normally conferred during the Annual Meeting of the Society.


This award was established by the Operations Power Division in 1976 with the initial award to Walter Zinn for his many contributions to the development of nuclear power. Subsequent recipients have been selected by the Operations and Power Division Honors and Awards Committee to recognize individuals who have made outstanding contributions to nuclear power. In August 2018, the OPD and ANS H&A Committee elevated this award to a national Top Tier ANS award, and it was renamed the Walter H. Zinn Medal. Presentation of the award is made by the Chair of the Operations and Power Division at the Annual Meeting each year.

Selection Method

The ANS H&A committee will administer the Zinn Medal, with input and participation by OPD. OPD will appoint up to three of the seven members on the subcommittee that reviews nominations and select the recipients.

Nomination Deadline:
March 1
Annual Meeting

Nomination forms and supporting documents (in Word or Adobe Acrobat) should be emailed to

Hard copies can be mailed to:

Honors and Awards
American Nuclear Society
555 N. Kensington Avenue
La Grange Park, IL 60526-5535

Last modified October 2, 2017, 4:34pm CDT