American Nuclear Society

Home / Honors and Awards

Technical Achievement Award


The award established in 1984 by the Thermal Hydraulics Division (THD) and became an ANS national award in 2006 to recognize outstanding past or current technical achievement. The Technical Achievement Award is the highest award given by the THD. It is normally presented to a member of the THD, however nominees need not be members of THD. Any ANS member is eligible for the Technical Achievement Award.

The Technical Achievement Award is based on a major contribution to the state of the art, an important publication, a major technical achievement, or a sustained record of accomplishment and technical excellence in the art or science of thermal hydraulics.

Selection Method

Nominations must include the completed nomination form accompanied by the following supporting documents:

  • A full letter of recommendation
  • At least three letters of support
  • A description of the significance of the achievements, period of activity, and evidence that the candidate is held in high esteem by his/her peer
  • A list of publications
  • A brief chronological resume
  • Relevant literature and endorsements (no more than five) may be attached.
Nomination Deadline:
Monetary Award:
August 1
ANS Winter Meeting

Nomination forms and supporting documents (in Word or Adobe Acrobat) should be emailed to THD Honors & Awards.

Hard copies can be emailed to: Dr. David Aumiller

For more information, please visit the Thermal Hydraulics Division website.

Last modified October 2, 2017, 4:34pm CDT