American Nuclear Society

Home / Honors and Awards

Early Career Reactor Physicist Award


The Reactor Physics Division (RPD) Early Career Reactor Physicist Award consists of a plaque and a letter signed by the chair of RPD recognizing the candidate's achievement of distinction. The winner will receive a free registration, for either the national ANS Annual meeting or for a Reactor Physics Topical Meeting (PHYSOR) at which he/she receives the award. The meeting registration will be paid by the Reactor Physics Division.


This award was established in 2013 by the Reactor Physics Division to recognize early career members of the RPD who have made significant contributions in the field of reactor physics. One award may be given per year, conditional upon receipt, approval, and selection of a successful nomination package. One person receives the award, and may receive the award only once.

Selection Method

The winner will be selected by RPD Honors and Awards Committee. The Committee will review, judge, rank the nominations, and pick the winner. In the event a nominee does not win the award, the nomination may be re-submitted one more time before the nominee.s 39th birthday.

Selection Criteria:

  • Must be 39 years of age, or younger, at the time the nomination is submitted.
  • Must have been an RPD member in good standing for at least three years
  • The nominee must have published in a peer-reviewed journal at least four full papers of high technical quality covering new and significant work in the area of reactor physics in which the candidate must have been the lead author.
  • Publications may include, for example, peer-reviewed journal or conference publications, such as Nuclear Science and Engineering, Nuclear Technology, PHYSOR, etc.
  • The candidate must demonstrate that he/she has done technical work in the area of reactor physics that is new and significant.

Nominations must include the completed nomination form accompanied by the following supporting documents:

  • A letter of recommendation (lead sponsor)
  • A list of publications
  • A brief chronological resume
  • Letters of support (2 additional are required, no more than five)

The deadline for receipt of nominations is August 1.

Last modified October 2, 2017, 4:34pm CDT