



2025 Annual Conference Awards

Call for Nominations

Deadline for Submission: March 1, 2025

Nominations for the 2025 Annual Conference awards are now being accepted. Anyone can make a nomination, however nominations from ANS members are especially solicited since ANS governance leaders are often in an ideal position to evaluate the contributions of potential nominees. Self-nomination is not permitted.

We urge you to submit a nomination if you know a deserving professional who is eligible and qualified in one of the fields served by the Society. Your nomination of highly qualified individuals is the key step in recognizing their contributions and ensuring that the ANS Honors and Awards program is aware of their achievements.

We look forward to receiving your nominations for highly qualified colleagues. Please visit the ANS website to learn more about each award, download nomination forms, and review past recipients. If you have any questions about a specific award, please contact honors@ans.org.

Sincerely,

H.M. Hashemian, PhD

H.M. Glashemean

Chair, Honors and Awards Committe

Nominate Today!

Submit a Nomination for the ANS Annual Conference Awards Deadline: March 1, 2025

honors@ans.org











Submit a Nomination for the ANS Annual Conference Awards

Deadline: March 1, 2025

honors@ans.org

For over 50 years, the ANS Honors and Awards Program has honored outstanding achievements and meritorious service in the various fields served by our Society. Through our program, ANS is proud to recognize the exceptional accomplishments of nuclear science and technology professionals.

Awards range from elevation of a member to Fellow grade to named awards honoring highly respected individuals in their field. Information on each of the awards offered, including past recipients and nomination forms, may be obtained at ans.org.

We encourage all members to review the descriptions and nomination requirements for the awards and consider nominating a qualified colleague. If you have any questions about a specific award, please contact Hash Hashemian, chair of the Honors and Awards Committee, at honors@ans.org.

Selection Process

Completeness of information is essential for consideration. Recipients will be selected by the Honors and Awards Committee comprised of representatives from the Society's divisions. Because of the large number of nominations typically submitted, late nominations are not accepted. Please keep in mind that many of our awards are open to non-ANS members, and nominating colleagues who are not members is a unique way to cultivate new ANS relationships. Self-nominations are not accepted.

Presentation of Awards

The selected recipients will be honored at the Opening Plenary of the ANS Annual Conference on Monday, June 16, 2025. Honorees will be notified of their selection by May 2025. The Smyth Award is scheduled to be presented at the 2025 Nuclear Energy Conference & Expo. The following awards are presented at the ANS Annual Conference

Fellow of ANS

Distinguished Public Service Award

Milton Levenson Distinguished Service Award

Untermyer & Cisler Reactor Technology Medal (w/AESJ)

Landis Young Member Engineering Achievement Award

Leadership Award

Mishima Award

Special Award

Standards Service Award

Henry DeWolf Smyth Nuclear Statesman Award (w/NEI)

Walter H. Zinn Medal



ANS Annual Conference Award Descriptions

Fellow of ANS

Highest grade of membership. Fellow status can only be attained by professional accomplishments via nomination by peers and election by the Honors and Awards Committee and Board of Directors.

Distinguished Public Service Award

Presented to a public servant who has demonstrated leadership in energy policy formulation and public enlightenment and has made significant contributions for the betterment of mankind in the national and international sphere of public service.

Milton Levenson Distinguished Service Award

Presented to ANS members who have contributed in an outstanding manner to the development and understanding of the goals and policies of the Society, or who have made outstanding non-technical contributions to the fields of nuclear science and engineering. Must be an ANS Member.

Untermyer & Cisler Reactor Technology Medal (w/AESJ)

Presented to individuals who have made outstanding scientific, engineering, or management contributions to the advancement of nuclear reactor technology.

Landis Young Member Engineering Achievement Award

Presented to individuals (under 40 years old) to recognize outstanding achievement in which engineering knowledge has been effectively applied to yield an engineering concept, design, safety improvement, method of analysis, or product utilized in nuclear power research and development or commercial application.

Leadership Award

Presented to ANS members to recognize substantial contributions to the Society over a prolonged period of time.

Mishima Award

Presented to an individual in recognition of outstanding contributions in research and development work on nuclear fuel and materials.

Special Award

Presented to individuals for outstanding accomplishment in a different topical area each year. The area chosen for special recognition in 2025 is:

Standards Service Award

Presented to individuals in recognition of outstanding achievement by individuals in the generation and use of ANS standards in the field of nuclear science and engineering

Henry DeWolf Smyth Nuclear Statesman Award (w/NEI)

Presented to an individual in recognition of statesmanlike contributions in the many aspects of nuclear energy activities.

Walter H. Zinn Medal

One of three Top Tiered awards of the Society. Presented to an individual for outstanding contributions to the advancement or implementation of nuclear technology.

Nominate Today!

Submit a Nomination for the ANS Annual Conerence Awards Deadline: March 1, 2025 honors@ans.org